All credit institutions governed by Luxembourg law, as well as Post Luxembourg (for the provision of postal financial services) are required to become member of the Fonds de garantie des dépôts Luxembourg (FGDL, Luxembourg Deposit Guarantee Fund). Luxembourg branches of credit institutions having their registered office in a third country, subject to the second sentence of Article 43(2) of the Law of 5 April 1993 on the financial sector, as amended, are required to join the FGDL, if the Commission de Surveillance du Secteur Financier considers that the protection is not equivalent. However, branches of banks with their headquarters in another EU country are not members of the FGDL. They are affiliated to a guarantee scheme in that country.

Complete list of FGDL members